The Vision of a "European House

I met Mikhail Gorbachev at the meeting of the Steering Committee of the 8th Petersburg Dialogue on 2-3 July 2008 in Passau. Gorbachev was the chairman on the Russian side and Lothar de Maizière on the German side.
It was about the modernisation partnership in the globalised world between Germany and Russia. At that time, Gorbachev still played a significant role and gave important impulses to the dialogue. Gorbachev had grown up in the old Soviet Union and had set the course for the modernisation of the Soviet Union with glasnost and perestroika. The result was the end of the Cold War, the fall of the Iron Curtain, disarmament and the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact, the reunification of Europe and also Germany.


This is blamed on him in Russia today because he destroyed the old greatness of the Soviet Union. But this greatness only existed in appearance. Gorbachev had to realise that the arms race could not be won, that the Soviet Union was in great economic difficulties and that the freedom movements in Hungary, Poland, Czechoslovakia, the Baltic states and the GDR could not be stopped.


Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania were Soviet republics as opposed to Warsaw Pact states. While German reunification could be completed without a shot being fired in 1990 after the fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989 and the Warsaw Pact states were also able to free themselves from forced communist rule without Moscow intervening militarily, Gorbachev tried to prevent Lithuania's independence by military means on 13 January 1991. This did not succeed.


Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia declared their independence as republics in the course of 1991, a success of the singing revolution. The end of the Soviet Union came in December 1991 when Boris Yeltsin forced Mikhail Gorbachev to resign and raised the Russian flag on the Kremlin instead of the Soviet flag.
Mikhail Gorbachev developed a vision of the European House. With his reforms, he cleared the way to build this European House. This remains his great merit. As the OstWestWirtschaftForum, we have taken up the idea of the European House with our Peace Chapel Rossoschka in Volgograd.


In the meantime, Vladimir Putin has distanced himself from this idea and is trying to turn back the wheel of history by military means. In doing so, he is bringing endless suffering to the alleged "brother people" in Ukraine and severely damaging the European House. Terrorism on the outside is matched by terrorism on the inside, which is gradually taking away all political freedoms from the citizens of Russia.


Russia's withdrawal from the Council of Europe is also a farewell to European political values. The contrast between Putin and Gorbachev could not be greater. Declaring Gorbachev's vision of a European House dead is not an option for the future. Today, the realisation of this vision seems further away than ever. When Gorbachev developed glasnost and perestroika in the Soviet Union, it hardly seemed conceivable to many that the fall of the Iron Curtain and the reunification of Europe could happen. Precisely because the unthinkable became reality, we should continue to work on the realisation of a European House!

 

Eberhard Sinner

WE USE COOKIES

This website uses various cookies. On the one hand, essential cookies that guarantee the functionality of this page. On the other hand, various cookies to improve our online offer for you. You can accept all cookies or make your own selection.

accept all
Alle ablehnen
save settings

Die Vision eines „Europäischen Hauses“

Ich traf Michail Gorbatschow bei der Sitzung des Lenkungsausschusses des 8. Petersburger Dialogs am 2./3. Juli 2008 in Passau. Gorbatschow war auf der russischen Seite der Vorsitzende, auf der deutschen Seite Lothar de Maizière.


Es ging um die Modernisierungspartnerschaft in der globalisierten Welt zwischen Deutschland und Russland. Damals spielte Gorbatschow noch eine bedeutende Rolle und gab dem Dialog wichtige Impulse. Gorbatschow war in der alten Sowjetunion aufgewachsen, hatte mit Glasnost und Perestroika für die Modernisierung der Sowjetunion Akzente gesetzt. Das Ergebnis war das Ende des kalten Krieges, der Fall des eisernen Vorhangs, Abrüstung und die Auflösung des Warschauer Paktes, die Wiedervereinigung Europas und auch Deutschlands.
Dies wird ihm heute in Russland angelastet, weil er die alte Größe der Sowjetunion zerstört habe. Diese Größe bestand aber nur vermeintlich. Gorbatschow musste erkennen, dass das Wettrüsten nicht zu gewinnen war, die Sowjetunion wirtschaftlich in größte Schwierigkeiten kam und die Freiheitsbewegungen in Ungarn, Polen, der Tschechoslowakei, den baltischen Staaten und der DDR nicht zu stoppen waren.


Estland, Lettland und Litauen waren Sowjetrepubliken im Gegensatz zu den Staaten des Warschauer Pakts. Während die deutsche Wiedervereinigung nach dem Fall der Mauer im November 1989 ohne einen Schuss im Jahr 1990 vollendet werden konnte und auch die Staaten des Warschauer Pakts sich von der kommunistischen Zwangsherrschaft befreien konnten, ohne dass Moskau militärisch intervenierte, versuchte Gorbatschow am 13. Januar 1991 die Unabhängigkeit Litauens mit militärischen Mitteln zu verhindern. Dies ist nicht gelungen.
Litauen, Estland und Lettland erklärten ihre Unabhängigkeit als Republik im Laufe des Jahres 1991. Ein Erfolg der singenden Revolution. Das Ende der Sowjetunion kam im Dezember 1991, als Boris Jelzin Michail Gorbatschow zum Rücktritt zwang und statt der sowjetischen Fahne die russische Fahne auf dem Kreml hisste.


Michail Gorbatschow hat eine Vision des Europäischen Hauses entwickelt. Er hat mit seinen Reformen den Weg freigemacht, um dieses Europäische Haus zu bauen. Dies bleibt sein großes Verdienst. Wir haben als OstWestWirtschaftForum den Gedanken des Europäischen Hauses mit unserer Friedenskapelle Rossoschka in Wolgograd aufgegriffen.


Wladimir Putin hat sich von diesem Gedanken inzwischen weit entfernt und versucht mit militärischen Mitteln das Rad der Geschichte zurückzudrehen. Er bringt damit unendliches Leid über das angebliche „Brudervolk” in der Ukraine und beschädigt das Europäische Haus schwer. Dem Terrorismus nach außen entspricht ein Terrorismus nach innen, der den Bürgern und Bürgerinnen in Russland nach und nach alle politischen Freiheiten nimmt.


Der Austritt Russlands aus dem Europarat ist auch ein Abschied von den politischen Werten Europas. Der Kontrast zwischen Putin und Gorbatschow könnte nicht größer sein. Die Vision Gorbatschows eines Europäischen Hauses für erledigt zu erklären ist keine Option der Zukunft. Die Realisierung dieser Vision scheint heute weiter entfernt denn je. Als Gorbatschow Glasnost und Perestroika in der Sowjetunion entwickelte erschien es vielen kaum denkbar, dass es zum Fall des eisernen Vorhangs und zur Wiedervereinigung Europas kommen könnte. Gerade weil das Undenkbare Realität wurde, sollten wir weiter an der Realisierung eines Europäischen Hauses arbeiten!

 

Eberhard Sinner

WIR VERWENDEN COOKIES

Diese Website verwendet verschiedene Cookies. Zum einen essenzielle Cookies, welche die Funktionalität dieser Seite gewährleisten. Zum anderen diverse Cookies, um unser Onlineangebot für Sie zu verbessern. Sie können alle Cookies akzeptieren oder Ihre individuelle Auswahl erstellen.

Alle akzeptieren
Speichern
Impressum Datenschutzerklärung